A Place of Pondering

Heart of Glory

September 15, 2011 Albany, Georgia

1 Nephi 2:16  I Nephi, having great desires to know of the mysteries of God, wherefore I did cry unto the Lord (cry= to show great need or desire) behold, He did visit me and did soften my heart (my desires) that I did believe all the words which my father had spoken.

FTM- I need to pray with full desire to God and He will answer me AND He will help me gain greater desire for the welfare of all and for His Glory.

1 Nephi 2:18-19  Laman and Lemuel would not hearken to my words; and being grieved because of the hardness of their hearts (stubbornness of their wills), I cried unto the Lord for them. 19. Blessed art thou, Nephi because of thy faith, because thou hast sought me diligently, with lowliness of heart (a humble and submissive will).

FTM- Pray for everyone, no matter if they listen to you or not. I must pray so, diligently, and for all men, all my brothers and sisters.

1 Nephi 3:12, 24  When Nephi and his brothers made their desires known to Laban, he would not answer them but desired their property and did lust after it. One example of a heart of darkness.

1 Nephi 4:10 I was constrained by the Spirit that I should kill Laban; but I said in my heart (my will) Never at any time have I shed the blood of man. And I shrunk and (I willed) would that I might not slay him. (I did not desire to slay him or any man ever.)

FTM- Just like Nephi, I need to not fear what man may do in response to what the Spirit prompts me to do or to say. Trust Father and He will ensure His will is accomplished as He hath spoken it. God cannot lie! Desire is a strong thing and it can influence others. God’s desire is greatest of all!

Leave a Reply

